Beautiful Meditation Chapel is a space set apart for quiet reflection. Mr. and Mrs. Ross Beason built the chapel in 1948 as a memorial to their son, Ross Beason, Jr., and all other Utahns who died in World War II. The plaza surrounding the chapel contains more than 300 granite markers each representing a Utah serviceman whose remains were not recovered after the war. The pink marble chapel features intricate bronze doors, stunning “acid etched” windows, and a patterned marble floor. Take some time to enjoy the chapel's contemplative atmosphere and lovely setting in Memory Grove Park. Utah Heritage Foundation also offers tours of Memorial House across the park from Meditation Chapel. These tours are also free and open to the public. However, they are subject to cancellation due to pre-scheduled events at Memorial House. Click here for more information on Memorial House and Memory Grove Park history.
Utah Heritage Foundation offers tours of Meditation Chapel and Memorial House in Memory Grove Park during the summer months and occur at the following times (subject to change):
Tours are at your leisure and not at any specific time in those hours.
UHF does not guarantee that the buildings on this tour are ADA accessible. All dogs, including service dogs, are not allowed on the tour. It is strongly recommended that those that require ADA access be prepared for difficult circumstances including not being able to access certain areas of each building.